I Took (and Passed) Four LinkedIn Assessment Tests: My Experience

My experience acing four LinkedIn Assessment tests in one sitting ;)

ยท

3 min read

I just resurrected my LinkedIn account after several months. I decided to go under the radar for a while in 2022 because โ€ฆ well, I can ๐Ÿ‘€. After reactivating my LinkedIn account, I embarked on a journey to update my profile to align with my life.

One of the first tasks on my LinkedIn profile refresh project was to update my skills. That's the point where I bumped into LinkedIn Skill Assessments. I decided, why not? Let me give this a try.

As a result, here's my experience with LinkedIn Skill Assessments and everything you need to know about it.

What Are LinkedIn Skill Assessments Tests?

The pitch is simple; you take a skill test made of multichoice questions to demonstrate to potential employers that you're conversant with what you claim to know.

Typically, a LinkedIn Skill Assessment test includes 15 questions, and you're given a strict timeframe for attempting each question. Plus, you have to complete the test in one sitting.

You're given about a minute and a half to answer each question. Once the timer runs out, you can't answer a question. You have to go to the next.

To pass a LinkedIn Skill Assessment, you need to score in the top 30%, which earns you a badge.

Where to Find LinkedIn Skill Assessment Tests

You can check LinkedIn Skill Assessments by navigating to your profile and scrolling down to the Skills section. You'll see a Demonstrate Skills button in this section that you can select to navigate to LinkedIn's Skill Assessments.

Alternatively, use this direct link: LinkedIn.com/skills-demonstration/skills.

My Experience with LinkedIn Skill Assessment Tests

The same day I bumped into LinkedIn Skill Assessment tests; I did four tests; HTML/CSS, Frontend web development, React.js, and JavaScript. I aced them all, so I have the badges on my profile.

To test the waters, I started with HTML/CSS, and I quickly realized it was all about basics, mostly syntax and the building blocks of a language. That's why I aced three other assessments in a single sitting.

Books on a table

That's not to say advanced concepts aren't included. However, even if you're asked about an advanced concept like error boundaries in React or code-splitting, they keep it basic. You only have a little time (about a minute and a half) to answer every question.

In addition to questions about concepts, you can also be given sample code with a bug. In this case, you need to pick an error-free version that solves the bug in question. I found such questions challenging because you have to understand the code first. Take longer to understand the code, and your time will run out.

Can You Retake a LinkedIn Skill Assessment Test?

You won't earn a badge if you don't score 70% or above. The good news is if you fail a test, LinkedIn gives you a second chance. But with a catch. The company says you can retake the test within six months.

You don't have to worry about it since the platform won't show that you failed a test.

A LinkedIn Skill Assessment Tests Worth It?

You might be wondering whether taking these tests is worth your time. Well, I'm guessing no employer will solely rely on your LinkedIn Skill Assessment badges to offer you an opportunity. You must also be able to demonstrate your skills to them.

However, I think these badges might come in handy in helping your LinkedIn profile stand out. That's what I'm telling myself so I don't feel bad about potentially wasting my time taking the tests.


Notice a typo, error, or additional information worth sharing? Comment below. I'd love to hear your feedback.

ย